The town centre- the parish village Trest- is from the turn of 12th and 13th century upon the river Trestici. It used to be the crossroads of business paths. The first written reference is from 1349 when Trest was a small manor with a church, a fortress and a possession of Zavis from Trest. It was elevated to a town in 1901. At the beginning of 19th century the local industry developed.
Some exhibits of local folklore Bethlehem making can be seen in museum. Originally painted and colored pieces turned into sophisticated pieces during the 19th century.
The town has a many cultural and sport facilities. Surroundings nature offers many great outings.
The church of St. Matrin is the eldest monument in Trest, finished at the second half of 15th century. The chateau in Trest is a unique mixture of architectural styles- the lower part is in Gothic style, the first floor in Renaissance style and the living wing in Baroque style. It used to serve as municipal museum, nowadays as a chateau hotel.